A woman in your field?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2008

A woman in your field?

Quick question for any of the guys out there to answer, but Cat 1's maybe specifically...

We don't get a big turnout of Pro Women at our So Cal State Series races, so I've asked to race with the Cat 1 men in my age group (allowable per USAC rules: 1K2. Women may enter any men‟s race for which they are eligible by age, category, and any performance requirements. They may also enter categorized races for men that are up to one category lower than their women's category.). Promoter said "go for it".

I realize quite a lot of them are faster than I am, but it'd be some good solid race training for me I think (until I blow up!).

Thoughts on having a woman show up on the line with you guys?

My only previous experience was 3+ years ago when I only had a SS to race so they put me in Sport Men's SS for my first ever XC experience (I was a rank beginner for sure). The guys all thought it was cool, but I walked like half the course

ups and downs
    Marie-Hélène Prémont entered a Quebec Cup race last weekend in the Senior Expert men's race for training purposes and was in the lead at the end of the first lap and at the end of the race, but she withdrew from the race right at the end to avoid taking any points or podium finishes away from the guys who regularly compete in the series.

I came across a photo taken by a photographer (Patrice Belle-Isle) on the first lap at Lac Beauport. He was expecting to get an action shot of one of the Senior Expert Men, and he was surprised to have the first rider be a very fast gal instead of a guy. It looked like she was enjoying being in the lead. In the official results she's listed as a DNF in Senior Expert Hommes.

A woman in your field?-lac-beauport-mhp-june-6-2010.jpg
    Last edited by rockyuphill; 06-15-2010 at 10:23 AM.
    I'm a member of NSMBA and IMBA Canada

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by rockyuphill