Numb toes- Mtbr.com

Thread: Numb toes

Aug 2006

Numb toes

ok heres the deal, I have been riding on and off for 3 years or so and have always had trouble with my toes going numb after a few minutes in the saddle.I try to stand every 10 minutes or so but this does not seem to make a big difference. If I get off my bike the numbness goes away but when I start to ride again it comes back faster. I ride clipless and my shoes are loose enough for me to slip them on and off without effort. Any help would be appreciated.

Jul 2006

I'm glad you posted this... thought it was just me!

Dude,

I've recently begun to have the same problem.

In this past weekend's race, I lost total feeling 1/2 way through.

When I finished, I had to almost fall off the bike because I no feeling in my feet.

What's up with that?

Aug 2006
    weired thing is that with me its only my toes, the rest of my feet and legs have no problem.

I love Pisgah
    Some might say its related to cleat placement. Could be. But I also think its just as much from heavy sustained pressure on the cranks for long periods of time(like a race or long climb)cutting off blood flow to a small degree. Takes awhile, but it adds up. Mine do the same thing sometimes if I let them. When it hits..I've found if I try to spin circles more, changing the load by pulling up hard for 15-20 cycles or whatever, moving the toes around, or while on descents I hang off the back of saddle to take the weight off my feet for those few seconds/minutes and even pull upward some to encourage circulation at the bottom of the foot. After these drills, it fades and goes away for the most part.
    Last edited by Duckman; 08-09-2006 at 08:01 PM.

mtbr member
    Oct 2005