New pedal recommendations- Mtbr.com
    Grip it and rip it.

New question here. New pedal recommendations

I'm looking at getting new pedals. I've been using Time for a few years but not happy with the way the cleats seem to engage at a different position on the bars on the pedals each time I clip in (changing my knee alignment slightly).
    I'd like something that feels solid and stiff but still has a bit of float. I'm more of an endurance guy than pure XC, but thought I'd ask here too.

Cheers!
    "Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional"

michaelmblog.wordpress.com

mtbr member
    I've not been disappointed at all with Shimano XTR pedals, I swapped after having far too many issues with crank brothers. Solid engagement and while less float than CB, enough to not cause any knee issues.

AND- they make great mid-ride beer bottle openers

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    To my knowledge Time pedals are the only ones that offer real lateral float. All the others only angular float.

XTR and all other Shimano pedals are rock solid. I know people riding them for years through deepest mud without any issues. However, if they weren't so heavy. Really heavy. But this they share with Time.

For racing? CB eggbeater! What else. The newer models offer a more stable fit. Coupled with a metal plate on the shoe good power transmission. But probably still to loose for your liking. But ~100g lighter! And lots of angular float.

I don't know if you can get any valuable information here. Pedals are such a "personal" issue. I've probably tried all different pedals out there but in the end I came back to my eggbeaters on my race bikes and candys on my enduro fun bike.

EAT MORE GRIME
    imho

been using spuds since they were invented
    spent some time on times and cb eggbeaters, hated them both

spuds work, transfer power reliably, and they handle smashing into rocks constantly. ol'sparky never lets me down

downsides: yes there are lighter pedals if you need them