Getting Intensity Right- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Getting Intensity Right

Hello,

I am new to training seriously,currently 8 months past since I started training seriously.The thing is I take this serious,I am 20 years old and I am not late,actually might be little early to be able to become a good XC racer since not many people racing XC in our country are young,they average 28-30 years old.

The thing is I am in collage and I also have hard courses,I do not know if the collage is also adding stress on me because I have to study hard,but since I have been training I noticed that I tend to be a lot more tired,usually on the zone of being fatigued.Sometimes after workouts I am so tired that the rest of the day I usually spend not moving and I lose all my energy that I have zero mental energy to do anything.My legs feel so heavy and collapsed that if I have to use the stairs it is like lactic acid can build super fast that my legs feel heavy and I run out of breath.

The thing is my riding history is like this:I have been riding for 2 years and I logged 6000 kilometers.

I take everything seriously,sleep,rest,recovery,training,food and all that yet I still may be tired usually.I feel like I am not getting the intensity right since my training time is usually 8-10 hours a week,not much for a XC racing preparation but I can still feel tired.

Some sources say that %70-80 part of training should be easy like zone 2-3.But I usually spend my time on zone 3-4 as I am used to do like so and train like so and actually I do not make much power at zone 2 or 3.Actually on a climb like higher than %3-4 percent the only way for me to ride on zone 2 is to use the smallest gear(on road bike).