Comparing XC Racing with Road and XC (Running) Racing- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2004

Comparing XC Racing with Road and XC (Running) Racing

Hi All,

I've been riding MTB on and off for about 15 years now. Never tried racing my bike. I have however run high school and college (small school divisions), and have also done some road races along the way (with one very slow marathon with my mom when she hit her 50's).

My question is what does a typical beginner XC MTB race (~15mi) compare to in terms of road or XC racing distance on foot? Time wise I'm thinking that it may compare well to a 15k running event, but energy exertion is so much different on the bike vs foot. How does the intensity of a race compare in MTB vs your typical 5k or 10k race?

I'm trying to gauge this as I ponder my entry into some MTB races for the first time...it's nice to be able to compare to something I know. Thanks for your responses in advance.

Y

190lbs of climber
    I made the same transition from running to mtb racing. A beginner race of about 1 hour feels about the same as a 10k--the first ten minutes or so are easy, the middle gets progressively tougher, and with 15 minutes left you realize that you are almost done so you kick back in again. Ideally you would pace yourself, but this rarely happens in beginner races since everyone sprints the first couple miles and then blows up, and you have to stay with them to maintain position in the single track.
    ye' old trailblog: www.most-excellent-adventures.com THE BAY AREA... WHERE IF IT'S FUN, IT'S ILLEGAL

Ridin bikes is fun