Is it bad for a healthy person to exceed their theoretical max HR on a regular.....- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Is it bad for a healthy person to exceed their theoretical max HR on a regular.....

basis when riding or weight training?
    Last edited by Mountain Cycle Shawn; 07-16-2016 at 11:38 PM.

If you are exceeding your max hr you have not accurately established your max hr.
    I ncredibly
    M yopic
    B ackstabbing
    A ssholes

Fat-tired Roadie
    LOL. This.

Sent from my E5803 using Tapatalk
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

Rides all the bikes!
    Quote Originally Posted by Mountain Cycle Shawn View Post
    basis when riding or weight training?
    Your max HR is the max HR your body is capable of pumping. As already mentioned, if you exceed it, then you didn't have the right number to begin with.

I'm not a medical professional, but as far as I know there is nothing wrong with hitting your max HR. On the other hand, I don't think there is anything to gain either.

mtbr member
    Nov 2009
    The common calculation of max heart rate = x - age is total BS.

From Wikipedia "Maximum heart rates vary significantly between individuals. Even within a single elite sports team, such as Olympic rowers in their 20s, maximum heart rates have been reported as varying from 160 to 220. Such a variation would equate to a 60 or 90 year age gap in the linear equations"

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heart_rate

mtbr member
    Is infinity plus 10 greater than infinity?
    "Plato is my friend, Aristotle is my friend, but my best friend is truth." - Newton

mtbr member
    Of course I mean the established theoretical max HR of 220 - age = max HR. I've just always have been curious about that.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    Of course I mean the established theoretical max HR of 220 - age = max HR. I've just always have been curious about that.
    It seems there are numerous versions of that formula floating around.