Knee/Shin Pads?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Knee/Shin Pads?

mtbr member
    May 2008

Knee/Shin Pads?

Hey girls, so I just moved to California and will be looking to get into a little more aggressive riding (after doing a Dirt Series Camp next month)
    When I say aggressive I mean sissy weanie aggressive, not I"m going to take a 10' drop anytime soon.

What are some good knee/shin pads for girls? I'm about 5'8" so I'm trying to figure out what size and what is most comfortable, hard or soft pads?
    I am concerned about them getting in the way when pedaling up hill, so maybe one's that I can put on easily at the top w/out having to take my shoes off?

Suggestions?

Anyone on the Peninsula/SF Bay area interested in showing us around? PS. I am out of shape!

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    Welcome!

I have been using Fly Racing Knee/Shin guards for about 4 months now and am pretty happy with them. Haven't taken any major spills though.
    They have velcro straps which make them easy on/off. and they stay pretty much where I put em. Like I said, no major crashes though so I can't give you my opinion on that

Fly Racing Knee/Shin Guard - Bike.com

Make sure you make it to the Sea Otter this upcoming weekend!!

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Thanks, do they have a strap at the top to go around your knees or do they flop around when you pedal?

Definitely planning on heading down to Sea Otter, can't wait!

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    They have two straps. One up under the knee and the other above the ankle.
    No flopping around and I have ridden up a lot of hills and walked up more than I want to mention also with these on.
    The knee guard itself has no straps but stays in place when I pedal. It just does not bend when my leg is bent up at the upstroke. Hasn't been an issue yet.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    Never had any rubbing issues with the straps either and they hold the guards in place well.

9 lives