Hello Hello!- Mtbr.com

Thread: Hello Hello!

Jan 2005

Hello Hello!

Hi, I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm a 'newbie' as I hate to say. I started riding two summers ago and last summer I bought my own, very first mountain bike! During the summer I was pretty active and did a good amount of riding. It's very intimidating, but I've found but love love love getting out there and challenging myself. Now I feel horrible for even calling myself a 'mountain biker', I haven't riden in months and I am getting afraid to get out there! How ridiculous, I know. I'm a full time college student and a part time preschool teacher. During the weekdays my free time (and daylight right now) is packed with school and work stuff. I'm hoping that joining and being able to be active on this message board will help motivate me to get my butt outside and ride!!

I do have one question, whenever I ride- whether its on pavement or on trails- after about a half an hour or so of riding my pinky/ring finger on both hands falls asleep! Does anyone know why this might be happening? I was thinking about getting a new handle bar- a riser maybe? Sometimes it gets painful! Would better gloves help?

Anyway, thats all! Hello! How are you doing today?

-Megan

Des(s)ert Rat
    Welcome to the land of wheels and chocolate! The best way to get back on the bike is to just go out and do it. Don't build big expectations, just go to a familiar trail and feel how wonderful it is to feel the wind on your face, the movement of the legs pushing the cobwebs out, and the thrill of the ride. Remember to smell the dirt (not too close, I hope!), and think of the spring flowers that will soon be upon us.

Jan 2005