Handlebar & stem length- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Handlebar & stem length

Hey everyone, Im Lauren and I'm posting under my husbands account, hopefully that is ok.
    Last year he bought me a Trek Roscoe 6 size small (I'm 5'3") for my first real mountain bike. I am a beginner and haven't rode any hard trails yet but I'm working my way there.

I am having an issue with steering, it feels like the handlebars are too wide and too far away and I cant turn fast enough.

What are you girls around my size riding as far as handlebar length and stem length?

If I can get some lengths to go off of I can have him cut them down.

~Peace

mtbr member
    Jul 2019
    Some of this also depends on your arm wingspan. If you can I'd suggest taking your bike to a local shop that has does fitment so you can get the seat height, stem angle/length, and bars just right? What is the length and angle of your stem currently?

Moderator Moderator
    ^^ A fit would be great! Hi Lauren, if a fit is not possible, I would consider cutting the bars back to 720mm, which is what the XS Roscoe 6 comes with.

mtbr member
    Bar width...stem length...also the saddle position can make the bar feel like it's far away. If you haven't...try sliding the saddle a bit forward. If you have lock on grips...you can slide them in along with the levers and see if the steering improves.

mtbr member
    Jan 2019
    Most bikes come with bars that are too wide in general. It was a marketing ploy and lowered costs by only having to inventory one size bar during production. I'm 5'7" and I switched my bar to 640mm. My 4'11" G.F. is using 620mm bar.

Do a couple push ups and have your husband measured the outside width of your hands and that is an approximate guide to properly size the bars based upon your shoulder width.