Advice on a "more comfortable" ride- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Advice on a "more comfortable" ride

Looking for advice for a bike for my wife, so I thought this would be the perfect thread.

Being that I just started riding, my wife also is interested in riding. I don't think she realized the type of riding I intended to do. However, when the trails are wide and relatively level (see attached), she really enjoys the riding. And when she enjoys it, life is better, right?

She'll never be into anything technical, but she is not afraid to try and navigate that unexpected rocky terrain. I got her an older Giant 4500 as her ride, but she's requesting something "smoother", as in suspension. She's a bit on the "tender side", maybe not getting off the seat as much as she should.

That brings me to my question. What would you advise for a budget oriented bike, full suspension, but high quality suspension components are definitely not mandatory. She won't ride anything hard. Doesn't have to necessarily have to be a woman's bike, but looking for experienced feedback.

Thanks
    Advice on a "more comfortable" ride-img_20181013_173042-large-.jpgAdvice on a "more comfortable" ride-img_20181013_171259-large-.jpgAdvice on a "more comfortable" ride-img_20180901_112950-large-.jpg

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    Tough one. I think one fundamental problem is that "smoothness" in her mind probably means small bump compliance, which means expensive suspension setups.

The only "reasonable" thing that might help is getting an air fork. The Manitou Markhor apparently is tailor made for replacing coil forks, comes with straight steerers, and even in 26.

And, of course, she will toughen up with continued riding without any bike mods. Finding a saddle that fits may help too.

mtbr member
    Jul 2017