27.5+ vs. full Squish for beginner?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

27.5+ vs. full Squish for beginner?

Ladies,

Maybe you can help me out. My wife has decided she wants an MTB. She's a brand new beginner. We've demo'd a few bikes and she says things like "I like this," "this one's ok," and "this is good" But: she has no baseline to compare anything to (everything's OK compared to the beach cruiser she has). So the "demo process" has been successful in that she really wants a bike...but unsuccessful in figuring out what bike.

She's fairly standard for fitting purposes 5'8" with longish limbs, so fitting is not an issue.

Basically, I'm torn between something like a Norco Fluid HT+/Trek Roscoe and a short travel full squish bike like Marin Rift Zone or Scott Spark 960. We ride in Delaware and SE PA, and as a beginner, I don't think she needs more than that (if she gets betterer, we can always get a new bike).

I've read that beginners like full squish b/c they'll feel more confident and won't get beat up as much. But, there's added expense, weight, and complexity to a full squish.

I've also read that 27.5 inspires confidence and gives some squish. There's weight in the wheels...but is that cancelled out by less weight b/c there's no suspension?

In reality, I'll get her whatever she wants...I just want her to be happy and to keep biking once she gets it.

So ladies: which would you prefer (especially as a beginner): full squish or 27.5?

Thanks!

always licking the glass
    I run two plus bikes: one hardtail and one full suspension. I absolutely love them.

Plus hard tails, especially with an all mountain geo, are absolutely wonderful to ride on.

Professional Crastinator
    No responses yet?

Well, for my daughter, who is cautious, her biggest issue was traction. She gravitated instantly to plus bikes, which gave her more confidence on loose surfaces. Suspension was not even a consideration. At her speeds, the cush of plus tires was sufficient.