Ebay sucks! Laugh....- Mtbr.com
    Daniel the Dog
    Mar 2008

Ebay sucks! Laugh....

I have been wanting to try a 2005 Manitou Minute. One came up on Ebay. I big $300 freaking dollars. Welp! The bidding ended while I was at work. Some lucky dog got that new Minute for $325. I hate that. Oh, well, I love my Marzocchi Marathon S.

Jaybo

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Try sniping it next time

Do It Yourself

eBay works!

If you were willing to pay more than $300, you should have bid higher. If you bid your maximum, then you should have no regrets when someone is willing to pay more. Also, there are a lot of people on eBay so on popular items, it hard to get a deal unless the seller does a poor job of listing it or has negative feedback.
    Long Live Long Rides

mtbr member
    Oct 2004

My eBay strategy

I'm a double novice: I'm building my first bike (my wife got me a Moots Smoothie frame), and I'm buying many of my components on eBay. I haven't used sniping or any of the automated programs yet, but I have come up with my own strategy for eBay. Since many people don't enter their real maximum bid (like the author of the post) until it's too late, I don't put in an early bid, which will just bid up the price early, and give people advance notice they have to increase their bid. If the timing works out, I wait 2 minutes or so before bidding ends, and then enter my max bid. Of course, if I'll be at work or unavailable, I will have to put in my max bid before that. I guess that's where sniping would come in.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by larrydj