wheel sets- Mtbr.com

Thread: wheel sets

mtbr member
    Feb 2011

wheel sets

so im pretty new to all this. i just got a new giant trance x2 and gunna save up for new wheel set.. the lbs whats to sell a 1000 dollar set of mavics. i dont really know if they are best or just what they sell. lol my budget is 500-1000.. it will be mainly xc with some trips to lake tahoe.. im 220 now so they need to hold up.. any help would be awsome.

TXTony
    Stans Flow or Arch Rims..Hope Hubs or Chris King hubs...if your budget is 500-1000 dollars get a set of custom wheels built...not knocking Mavic...I have a set of Crossmax wheels and they are ok..have two sets of Stans Rims one laced to King and the other to I9s..compared to the Mavic..there is no comparison..got a buddy who has a set of Archs laced to Hope Hubs and he loves them..they seem to be quality hubs also and are a little less expensive then Kings or I9s..my next wheel build i am going to try out some Hope Hubs to replace the Crossmax wheels. The Stans System is easy to setup..at least I ahve had no issues with it..They are a decent weight and I have had no issues with them at all...

Braille Riding Instructor
    Jan 2008
    Or you could save your money and ride the wheels that came with your brand new bike. Being fresh to the sport, it's doubtful you'll know the difference.

meow meow
    Quote Originally Posted by hdparrish
    Or you could save your money and ride the wheels that came with your brand new bike. Being fresh to the sport, it's doubtful you'll know the difference.
    seriously. just wait and find out what you would like out of a wheelset vs what your current one offers.

T.W.O.
    +1 on I9s but there's a short wait for those wheelset. I love them. Mavic is a nice strong wheel, not the lightest but good set.