What is the general rule for bike shops as far as tires/tubes if they fail?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2006

What is the general rule for bike shops as far as tires/tubes if they fail?

Hi, I'm fairly new to biking (a little over 2 years), so I need to know what I can do about a situation with my rear tire and tube. Last week I went to my LBS for a new rear tire (old one was bald and had a slight rip in the rubber and was getting bigger by the week) anyway, I got a new tire ( I didn't ask for a new tube, but when I picked it up I was charged for one[ I usually put new tubes on every spring and they last me all season, and I wanted to avoid getting a new one until April, but oh well, it was 8 bucks]) I was riding down a pretty steep hill, slowed to a safe speed and I turned the corner onto a street, and I noticed the bike didn't feel/turn right. I looked down and my rear tire looked like it lost half of it's pressure, I didn't have anything to fix it (I know I'm unprepared) and walked the 2 miles home. If I bring it back to my LBS, do you think they'll charge me for the new tube? ( I didn't see anything wrong with the tire,no nails, or holes in the rubber). I clearly didn't run over anything, I seem to think is was installed wrong. What else could have caused this? I don't think I pinched it since I only used this bike on the road for the entire week since I had it fixed.

Thanks for any insight,
    Steve

mtbr member
    It sounds like you got a puncture. They happen all the time. How do you know you didn't run over something?

If you were riding it for a week I doubt it's installation error as any problem should have shown up almost immediately. It is a good idea to learn how to repair a tube (much cheaper than getting the lbs to replace it) and take the tools with you on the ride. You can repair a tube many times over.

If you have been riding for two years without a puncture you have been lucky.

Wombat

mtbr member