Washing out ... tyres, setup, technique or bad luck?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2019

Washing out ... tyres, setup, technique or bad luck?

I thought I'd found my perfect tyre combo. A quick rolling yet aggressive grippy setup.

29x2.6 eliminator front and 27.5x2.6 slaughter rear both in grid casings.

Except, I've noticed the past couple of rides, I've been washing out suddenly and I can't work out why.

Conditions were dry both times. First time was low speed loose over hard, second time was higher speed and loamy. In both cases I had the bike leaned moderately. The last slide hurt. I've ridden these sections several dozen times before.

I'm 168cm, 85kg and run 13psi front and 18psi rear.

I'm not discounting the fact that I'm no pro and technique is a contributing factor but in over 100 rides the past year I've never washed out like this. Let alone on consecutive rides and just a few rides into a new tyres combo.

Has anyone else had sketchy slides on the eliminator or similar tyres, or is this more likely rider technique/ability? I'm falling out of love with that eliminator pretty quick tbh.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    What inner width rim are you using?
    If it's not wide enough you may need to add more pressure to keep the sidewalls from folding over in cornering and putting that no tread area of tire in contact with the trail. Doesn't offer much traction if it happens. The change can be almost instant and you're on the ground.
    If you have wide rims for a wide tire the sidewall crinkles down for better cornering traction and slideouts are gradual. You can often have time to change your line and recover with no fall.

I'd add 3 lbs. to each to start and see if you have better traction.

mtbr member
    At 13psi, that must be a mushball that squirms and doesnít let the knobs dig in.

mtbr member
    Feb 2019
    Quote Originally Posted by eb1888 View Post
    What inner width rim are you using?