Tubeless Setup: Tire Blowing off Rim, Still Usable?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Tubeless Setup: Tire Blowing off Rim, Still Usable?

Hey, I've been running ghetto tubeless with great success for several years. Yesterday I was changing tires and had my first one blow off the rim. Setup: 650B Velocity Blunt with Fire Pro XC 2.1 tire. 24" Split tube with Stan's. Tire had previously been setup the same for 500 miles or so. I set it up one night. It had all leaked out the next morning. I pumped it up to 60psi and did the shake flip method. About ten minutes later, the tire blew off the rim and shot Stans everywhere. Obviously, the bead was not well situated or it wouldn't have all leaked out the night before or blown off. So the question is: Is it safe to use this tire again to set up tubeless? I just set it up a little while ago and pumped up to 45psi. Everything looks good but I'm going to give it time. What do yall think? Safe or no? Issue here is its 650B which is a hard tire to find and not available locally. Have a 60 mile race this weekend so its either run tubeless or throw a tube in (which I hate). Other 650B tire is a Nevegal 2.35 which is just too heavy and slow rolling to use on this course. Thanks in advance.
    If you ever see a turtle on a telephone pole, remember he had help getting there. Is there anything beer can't do?

meow meow
    ive blown a tire off my rim, i wouldnt trust it in a tubeless set up.

transmitter~receiver
    60 psi is way too high. there are only downsides to pumping tires that high.
    it blew off more than likely because the bead stretched. even if it's not permanently stretched, it's probably more likely now to do that again.
    Quote Originally Posted by pvd
    Time to stop believing the hype and start doing some science.
    29er Tire Weight Database

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by chuckie33