mtbr member
    Jan 2019

Tires for running low pressure

Hello All

Last season I installed a set to Race King 29 x 2.2's on my hard tail. I had to run higher pressure to avoid squirm (30+ psi). I realize that is fairly normal and I assume that it has to do with the side wall height and stiffness. I am ok with this up front, but in the back I don't really like the added pressure.

I am looking for a tire that will handle low pressure well (15-20psi) with little squirm. I willing to absorb the added weight of a thicker side wall, more tpi..etc. Previously I had tires that would handle this, but that was a while ago, and tires have changed a lot since then.

I have little knowledge of what is available out there so any advice helps

Thanks, Tim

mtbr member
    What is the internal width of your rims? The relationship between rim width and tire casing width has a lot to do with how squirmy a tire feels at low pressures.

Back in the day my crossmax 19mm internal rims rode like garbage wiht any tires wider than about 2.1”
    2008 BMC Fourstroke 19-559 ISO (RIP in peace)
    2017 BMC Speedfox 25-622 ISO
    2017 Salsa Timberjack 40-584 ISO

mtbr member
    ^^^ yeah. In my experience, tire construction doesn't matter much in this regard. Rim width does.
    Do the math.

mtbr member
    Jan 2019
    The outer width is only about 25mm, I recently put a new rear wheel on as well, it sounds like I may have picked the wrong one. What would you guys recommend. It sounds like I need a new rear wheel.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    At 15-20psi, anything that's not a 2-ply DH tire will squirm regardless of how wide the rim is. There is no magic solution.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by TimmySea View Post
    The outer width is only about 25mm, I recently put a new rear wheel on as well, it sounds like I may have picked the wrong one. What would you guys recommend. It sounds like I need a new rear wheel.