mtbr member
    Dec 2018

Tire pressure reommendation

I just got a Medium SC Hightower 27.5+ with Maxxis Rekon 2.8 and ARC 40 rims, tubeless. I am new to this and not sure how much tire pressure I should use. I have searched a number of forums but it seems like it is dependent on rider weight. I saw somebody had started a spreadsheet to help find a good starting pressure given weight, tires, size, etc. but the link was dead.

So, I am 5,9, 170 lbs. I will be riding moderate trails as far as roots, rocks, etc. No jumps, no drop offs, nothing too aggressive. Just need a good starting point and can tune on my own as I go along. I can provide other information if needed.

Thanks if somebody can help a brother out. And if I missed the golden thread somewhere just give me the link and I can read for myself.

EDIT: Actual wheel specs:
    Rims: Race Face AR 40 27.5 32h
    Spokes: DT Competition (32)
    Nipples: Sapim Secure Lock AL Silver Nipples (32)
    Front Tire: Maxxis Rekon 27.5x2.8 EXO 3C TR
    Rear Tire: Maxxis Rekon 27.5x2.8 EXO TR

Barely in control
    ASSuming your tires are actually 2.8" in diameter, I'd start with 18/16.

mtbr member
    Oct 2018
    I have a new 27.5+ in the garage right now. I've heard of folks running 16 or 18. Maybe a tick above that for the 2.8's. I aired up the 2.8's to 21 or so the other day as I've been goofing off in the street to bed in the brakes and it felt quite firm.
    I think I'll ride the suggested 18/16 r/f and see how it goes. I may end up airing down on the trail. I'm tipping the scale around 160 so I'm not far from your weight. If you plan to ride aggressively on rocky conditions, perhaps a bit more to start and see how it goes.

mtbr member
    Aug 2015
    I use to run 16F 17R on the rekon2.8

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Apr 2018