Thoughts on boost conversion kits- Mtbr.com
    "That's what." -She

Thoughts on boost conversion kits

Hello mtbr,

I come again with another question. I guess more like I want to know what other riders think about this. Recently I purchased a new fork with boost spacing. My current wheel is 20x110, however this fork is 15x110. However, my wheel also needed to be replaced anyway, so I am in the market for a 15x110 wheel. Me being a student, I don't have as much as I would like to spend on my bikes, especially after the new fork purchase. I have been in the market for quite some time, and that one wheel just hasn't popped up on Craigslist or Pinkbike yet. Now if any of you are selling an AM 28/32 spoke, wide width, 29er, 6 bolt rotor mounting, 15x110 wheel, HMU. But besides that, I am seeing a lot of 15x100 non boost wheels for sale that are more at my price line. I looked into getting a boost conversion kit, which would make a 15x100 wheel to a 15x110.

However, I am skeptical. So for those of you who have used them, what are your thoughts? Good, excellent, horrible? Give me reasons why I should or shouldn't use a conversion kit, would really appreciate it!

Thanks a bunch, happy trails!
    Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you're a mile away, and you have their shoes too.

mtbr member
    20x110? I thought most of the industry left the 20mm standard behind before boost spacing came along. I probably missed something.

Edit: yeah that is a thing now. Nevermind, I am useless at new bike standards.

"That's what." -She
    Was the spacing on my 2011 Stumpy, I know it's old.

Elitest thrill junkie
    Boost spacers work fine, using them on several wheel sets on several bikes, both front and rear. All of the ones I use allow my wheels to be centered, so no re-dishing wheels or any of that craziness.