Come on, dare me!

Is there anything like a grippy tire (Maxxis-like) with lower rolling resistance?

Hey all,

As a foreword, let's say that I've been riding MTBs for 27 years and tried lots of tires. I'm currently riding my Yeti SB66c the most and recently switched from a Nobby Nic 2.35 to a Maxxis Aggressor 2.3 in the rear (front is a Hans Dampf 2.35, which is OK for my style of riding). The reason why I've switched is that I found the NN was lacking grip when leaning the bike over, especially on loamy terrain. I'm very happy with the Aggressor and discovered the "magic" of the 3C compound (really sticky compared to the NN Pacestar). My only issue is weight -- since there's quite a lot of pedalling involved in my usual rides and I'm getting older (52), I find the Aggressor a bit draggy, especially on long or steep ascents.

So, is there a kind of "goldilocks" tire that would be the best of both worlds (efficient cornering + fast-rolling) and available in 26"?

Thanks!

tire to rim ratio tester
    I guess you could try the maxxis ardent 2.25. go to the maxxis website, they have a couple different tires that have nice side knobs but flatter high rolling centers. I promise that you will find the right tire there, they have like 25 different types. I can't paste the right tire types cause I'm on the phone and cannot do multiple screens, sorry.

Barely in control
    Yes, Morsa 2.3. It's the fastest trail tire you can buy.

I'm with stupid
    The gripton compound on the specialized tires right now is actually really good. Said to be done by the same guy that did black chili. It rolls far better than it should for how well it sticks. Could be a good goldilocks zone tire. The purgatory rear with butcher front is a really good quick rolling set up. The butcher in gripton rolls faster than the aggressor IMO.

Barely in control
    I was rolling on the 2018 2.6 Butcher purg combo this spring and I thought it was pretty slow compared to Vittoria g+.

mtbr member