Squorx Nipple Failures?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

New question here. Squorx Nipple Failures?

For some background, I've built about 30-40 wheelsets, mostly all of them MTB or fatbike wheels, so I have some experience (and I build a good wheel!). On a recent MTB 27.5 plus build (I9 hydra hubs and Whiskey carbon rims), I used DT Squorx nipples (on DT Comp spokes). Spoke tensions were normal range, nothing special, and I used Whiskey's spoke washers. I love the ease of building with Squorx nipples, but I've had the heads shear off nearly a half dozen of the rear spokes on this wheelset (some drive side, some non-drive). Double checked tension after the fix. All good.

It's starting to piss me off, not so much because I've ruined a ride but just the inconvience of repairing and retaping.

Any thoughts on this? Anyone with similar experiences? Recommendations?

Wanna ride bikes?
    Obvious question: are the spokes too short? Can you post pics of the broken nipples? Have you checked to see that the spoke is long enough to reach the end of the nipple? How big is the rider? How many spokes? Are the spoke holes angled and/or offset? How old is the wheel?

Why not switch to brass? You'll never have another issue with broken nipples. Plus, with a carbon rim and aluminum nipples on a tubeless setup, it's only a matter of time before corrosion sets in and nipples start breaking anyway.
    Rigid SS 29er
    SS 29+
    Fat Lefty
    SS cyclocross
    Full Sus 29er (Yuck)

Stop asking how much it weighs and just go ride it.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by *OneSpeed* View Post
    Obvious question: are the spokes too short? Can you post pics of the broken nipples? Have you checked to see that the spoke is long enough to reach the end of the nipple? How big is the rider? How many spokes? Are the spoke holes angled and/or offset? How old is the wheel?