• 06-16-2015
    mcseforsale
    Ride report: Forte Pisgah 2.3(f) Forte Tsali 2.2(r)
    Background: transplanted rider from Ct. riding in metro Atlanta. From rocky, rooty, wet soil to red-clay hardpack. I've been riding my old faves from Ct for the past several years...usually an IRC choice, most lately Serac XC 2.1 f&r. Seemed adequate, but couldn't rail the turns like I used to up north. Climbing was still great in wet sections, but the edge knobs just weren't up to the job.

I finally decided to try a more appropriate tire set and I chose the Forte options based on ride reviews here.

Forte Pisgah 26x2.3
    The Pisgah is a true size 2.3 and is high volume with a tread pattern that borrows heavily from several tires, such as the Nevegal (pattern) and Fire XC (lug shapes). It's a single compound tire with a hardness in the middle of soft/hard at 60A.

Billboard

Tread

Forte Tsali 26x2.2
    I just this week installed the Tsali 2.2 on the rear. This tire has a very tall profile and instead of a broken line of edge knobs, the Tsali has an almost un-interrupted line of edge knobs with ramped intermediate and center knobs. It's a bit like a Small Block 8, but the knobs are about twice as high and separated just a bit more. This is a dual durometer tire with a 60A/70A combination with the higher durometer in the center ramped treads (I'm guessing).
    Billboard

Tread

Setup Issues