Presta Valve vs. Schrader- Mtbr.com

May 2006

Presta Valve vs. Schrader

I know that this is a question that many of us have asked, but I have been having problems with my presta valve tubes such as, breakng at the stem, or the top bead coming off while pumping. I have been running prestas for about three years but am wondering if it's time for a change.

Student
    Quote Originally Posted by videl_majin_cold45
    I know that this is a question that many of us have asked, but I have been having problems with my presta valve tubes such as, breakng at the stem, or the top bead coming off while pumping. I have been running prestas for about three years but am wondering if it's time for a change.
    I don't know if its time for change of the actual type of valve you use. I love presta, they are much easier to work with than schrader valves. Maybe look into a different brand of tube. I use IRC Torque tubes, I got them from Price Point, 5 for like 8 bucks or something. I haven't had a problem with them yet.
    The secret to mountain biking is pretty simple. The slower you go the more likely it is you'll crash. ~Julie Furtado

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Time to have somebody show you how to use a pump on a presta valve.

I have damaged just 2-3 presta valves while inflating in 25+ years of using them.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    you can easily drill your rim out. i believe i have used 11/32 drill bit...

Jul 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by mx_599
    you can easily drill your rim out. i believe i have used 11/32 drill bit...

If you already have a shrader hole in your wheel can you change to a presta since the hole is already big?

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Demonsmasher
    If you already have a shrader hole in your wheel can you change to a presta since the hole is already big?