Most reliable tire brands for not leaking sealant through the sidewalls?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Most reliable tire brands for not leaking sealant through the sidewalls?

Have you had lots of experience running tubeless with different tire brands? If so, which tire brands have you found to be most reliable in terms of not leaking sealant through the sidewalls?

I'd appreciate your thoughts. I am aware there are lots of variables, e.g., which exact tire, casing version, sealant, etc.

FYI, the reason I ask is that I'm relatively new to tubeless. A couple tires I have (Maxxis and Kenda) don't seem to have a sidewall leakage problem. But another couple I have from another major top brand still show pinhead white leaks (Stans Race) even after several weeks and rides.

Thanks!

Rider
    Nov 2019
    I've never had a problem or heard of a problem with vittoria tnt sidewalls.

Armature speller
    Sep 2004
    Specialized non-grid tyres like weeping through the sidewalls.

EAT MORE GRIME
    stans weeps through many tires that orange seal will not

so I can say Hodags weep like a sponge -if- stans but weep zero if orange seal

contil trail kings, and any maxxis, don't weep for me but I now stick to orange seal

so...~it varies~, dudemanguy
    "Put your seatbelt back on or get out and sit in the middle of that circle of death." - Johnny Scoot

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by NordieBoy View Post
    Specialized non-grid tyres like weeping through the sidewalls.
    I have a 2020 Ground Control Grid tire ready to install next, if I get fed up with my current most weepy (not specialized) tire.

Maxxis cult follower
    Quote Originally Posted by 127.0.0.1 View Post
    stans weeps through many tires that orange seal will not

so I can say Hodags weep like a sponge -if- stans but weep zero if orange seal

contil trail kings, and any maxxis, don't weep for me but I now stick to orange seal

so...~it varies~, dudemanguy