Maxxis DHF 29 MaxxGrip vs Assegai 29 MaxxGrip- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2017

Maxxis DHF 29 MaxxGrip vs Assegai 29 MaxxGrip

Has anyone tried both tires? Comparison? What's the better tire for grip in all conditions? (Loose over hard and wet roots/rock, but not much mud where I ride).
    I'm leaning towards the Assegai MaxxGrip but it only comes in DD or DH and I think I saw the DHF MaxxGrip comes in an EXO+. This will be a front tire for my Enduro 29er, so climbing is involved and I don't want a super heavy tire in the front if I can help it.

Shamisen Appreciator
    Jan 2004
    I've been running the DHF MaxxGrip for a couple of years now and switched to the Assegai over the summer. If I'm being completely honest, I'm finding the Assegai to be disappointing in the conditions I ride. It holds really well in softer conditions, wet or dry but on harder surfaces, the cornering hold isn't what I was expecting and I've lost my front end a few times, adding new layers of elbow scarring. Personally, I find the DHF to be much more predictable and on an Enduro bike, it's nice to offset the weight of CushCore a little bit with the available EXO+ casing.
    Sean Chaney :: Owner/Builder :: Vertigo Cycles

mtbr member
    Sep 2017
    Was the Assegai a Maxxgrip as well? I've read complaints about riders having troubles in the corners with the Assegai Maxxterra, but not with the Maxxgrip.

mtbr member
    Aug 2015

I am also making this decision.

I have had great results, even with wet roots, with 2.6 MaxxTerra DHF EXO+. I have a Assegai MaxxGrip DD on order. All of the reviews said that it cornered even better than the DHF because it had some knobs to fill in the gap on the DHF. Ourdoor Gear Lab, who's reviews read like they know what they are talking about, rated Assegai MaxxGrip the best at cornering.

https://www.outdoorgearlab.com/topic...ain-bike-tires