Kappius Sealant- Mtbr.com

Thread: Kappius Sealant

mtbr member

Kappius Sealant

Anyone else using Kappius sealant? I haven't see much discussion on it, but it's been working for me. So far I've been using it for a few months on a 29+ bike and after about 470 miles I've had no issues. I also changed tires a couple weeks ago and noticed there was more sealant left than I would have expected with Stans, and there wasn't much residue stuck to the tire.

https://www.kappiuscomponents.com/co...ch-tire-selant

mtbr member
    Glad to see its latex based. Not impressed with the new forever sealants.

Ill give it a shot. I keep going back to orange seal, but ill try.

This place needs an enema
    Hadn't heard of it til now.

I've always thought of sealant residue coating the inside of the tire as a "good" thing. No?

mtbr member
    eventually all that dried residue will add weight, plus some of the little morsels can plug up your valves. at least thats what my 11yr old son says.

Quote Originally Posted by wideawakejake View Post
    eventually all that dried residue will add weight, plus some of the little morsels can plug up your valves. at least thats what my 11yr old son says.

If it's sticking to the casing then it's capable of sticking/plugging/sealing a hole, right?

If it doesn't stick, what good is it?

Or so the rationale seems to go...

EAT MORE GRIME
    Quote Originally Posted by wideawakejake View Post
    part of ordinary bike maintenance and riding is changing meats for wear, conditions, or just to pull out stans boogers or orange peels...tubeless comes with added stuff to do
    "Put your seatbelt back on or get out and sit in the middle of that circle of death." - Johnny Scoot

mtbr member
    My primary issues with residue are added weight on bikes I race and the difficulty to remove it. I can't say for certain that this sealant won't leave anything at all, but after about 4 months (winter) of use I didn't see much stuck to the tires.