Industry Nine hubs for a heavy rider?- Mtbr.com
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2018

Industry Nine hubs for a heavy rider?

I've been contemplating getting a 29er wheelset for my 2018 SC Tallboy. I've only been into mountain biking for a little less than a year so I'm still learning.

My LBS is suggesting Nextie with the i9 Hydra Boost 32h hubs.

Currently I'm 6'6" 300lbs, down from 349. Long term my goal weight is 240 so there's that. Are these the right hubs for a big dude like me? I need to know because those things are spendy and the wife hasn't fully let go of the fact that I spent so much on a "bicycle".

I'm not a super aggressive rider. No jumping or super technical or rocky trails. But I do put a lot of power down, so something stout is a must.

I've read a little about DT 350 hubs. Are they comparable?

What other options are out there? Are they cheaper, or all quality hubs pretty much the same price.

mtbr member
    What hubs do you currently have and have they been reliable for you?

I would get dt swiss 350 with an 18 or 36 tooth ratchet. They are pretty reliable for bigger guys. I know people who have had them for 15+ years. Generally speaking, ratchet hubs like dt swiss are more reliable than pawl hubs. The new industry 9 hubs have not been on the market for long enough to have much real world feedback. The older ones would pop on occasion when all 3 pawls were not synced up. Whatever you decide, avoid stans and formula hubs

Just my $0.02
    My name is George. Iím unemployed and I live with my parents.
    2017 BMC Speedfox 25-622 ISO
    2017 Salsa Timberjack 40-584 ISO

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Pricey but Chris Kings w steal driver are a great option. Maybe also consider Onyx. Donít know too much about Hydras as they are new but should be solid.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Apr 2009