Thread: HED BAD rims

FIF
    mtbr member
    Oct 2018

HED BAD rims

Hello everyone. I'm a little new to this so I greatly apologize if I am re-hashing this...but I am looking for feedback from people who actually have owned or have the HED BAD rims. I have seen various comments pop up in other posts where quick comments were made about these rims bending, being for fresh powder only, or people speculating on them. I fully understand that these are light weight single wall aluminum rims that may not be designed for shall we say riders of a larger stature, charging down a baby head rock infested trail at brake neck speeds, or going off a 3ft drop. But I was hoping to hear responses about either of the following:
    1. If you have had experience with them and would recommend them or would you recommend them for hilly single track vs. just riding on snow?
    2. -or- If you have had them and they failed? If they failed, could I please trouble you to comment on the trail conditions, riding style, tire pressure, and (I know you should never ask this) the size of the rider?

Thank you all and I appreciate any friendly information you may be willing to share.

Elitest thrill junkie
    I watched them fail, does that count?

Personally wouldn't touch them with a 10-foot pole, I'd take a carbon setup like Light Bicycle at similar weight that will be far stronger.
    "It's only when you stand over it, you know, when you physically stand over the bike, that then you say 'hey, I don't have much stand over height', you know"-T. Ellsworth

You're turning black metallic.

This place needs an enema
    There are people out there that successfully ride them year round, all conditions, all speeds, all terrain types.

I have no idea how they do this, because the rims are pretty fragile.

Unless you know you are a 1%er with respect to being light on equipment regardless of external factors, they are best reserved for on-snow use only.

mtbr member