Good Stiff 28 spoke metal rim????- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2013

Good Stiff 28 spoke metal rim????

I picked up a SC Bronson last fall and it came with 28 spoke wheels on it. The Rims are a WTB asym I23. I do like the TCS system that they use but I already need to replace my rear wheel. I don't mind having to build up rims as I need them, but want a stiff rear wheel. Not going with carbon for now. So am I looking for a unicorn or is there a stiff metal 28 spoke rim out there?

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    Most 28 spoke rims will be lighter weight, lighter than the rim you have now. Sounds like you need an all-new wheel with more spokes.

Why do you need to replace the rim?

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by dgaddis1 View Post

Why do you need to replace the rim?
    It is starting to get many flat spots.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    The only one I can think of is the Spank Industries Spike Race 28 Enduro. I have no experience with this particular rim, but the other Spank Industries rims which I've used are quite strong. For what it's worth the Spank Oozy Trail 295 and WTB KOM 23 rim are close to the same weight, but the Spank definitely feels stiffer & stronger.

mtbr member
    Stiffer and/or more spokes wont stop flat spots. Rims these days are light and thin and will dent more easily than the oldskool 600g narrow anchors.

You got a good rim. Id stick with it and consider bumping up the pressure a little bit. I just assume ill be denting rims and consider replacement after a hard season. A rim and a tire cost about the same these days, so considering them both wear items isnt too unreasonable. You can reuse spokes and even aluminum nipples if you're replacing a rim that only has dented lips (a full bend or taco really means you need new spokes).

mtbr member
    Jul 2007