Advice on Light Trail Wheels / Tires- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2020

Advice on Light Trail Wheels / Tires

Hi, I am building up a SC Blur to be a light trail style bike. This will be my first "modern bike". Putting a 120mm fork on it and a dropper. I am just getting back into the sport after a long hiatus and don't know jack about the current state of wheels, hubs, tires, etc.. My current bike is a 2005 Epic.

I am looking around for deals on wheels in the 500 - 700 range, and don't mind going second hand provided they seem to be in good shape. I am thinking of something in the 27mm inner rim width range. Lightweight is nice but I also want it to hold up and have some stiffness. I think I would probably favor Points of Engagement over weight if I had to pick, but again I am new to all this tech.

I would probably put a 2.3 - 2.4" tires on there. I currently have XR4's on my 26er which I really like. But would love to get recommendations on tires as well.

Thanks a ton for any recommendations!

mtbr member
    Oct 2018
    Morsa rear and xr5 front. Faster and more grip.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    I'd suggest you go at least 30mm inner(Nino runs this) and 35 is better. XR 2 or 3 tires are light with flexible 120 tpi sidewalls. They're designed with high volume and rounded tread patterns aimed squarely at taking advantage of wide rims and lower pressures to give you a larger footprint.
    Not geo on the leading edge for the travel.

mtbr member
    Mar 2020
    Quote Originally Posted by eb1888 View Post
    Not geo on the leading edge for the travel.
    What does this sentence mean?

30 - 35mm seems wide, I am glad I asked, as I would have figured those are enduro widths and would get heavy. I don't race and I while I have never broken a wheel I have popped a number of spokes and had to retire some aluminum ones before, but they were cheap OEM wheels.