29er tire purchase - looking for advice- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2020

29er tire purchase - looking for advice

Hi everyone--I'm new to this forum and I am looking for thoughts on changing up my 29er tires. If you would like to weigh in, read on:

1. I started riding mountain bikes in 1989. Had a cro-mo celeste Bianchi. Great bike. Upgraded in the 90s to a Trek 7000. Raced that bike in Vermont. Then in 2010 I bought a Scott Scale 29er. Changed up the tires from some heavy, nobby tires to Small Block 8s. Raced that bike, too. Really like those tires. Light weight, enough traction, roll fast.

2. Just got my first FS bike two months ago.. Santa Cruz Tall Boy C with SRAM tubeless wheels and Maxxis Minion DHF 2.3 tires. These tires have a weight of close to 1000 grams per tire and you can feel it. They are very nobby, and seem to be for downhilling. I do mostly XC with some up and down riding in Massachusetts on various trail systems. I like to climb a lot so extra weight is an issue.

I'm contemplating replacing these Maxxis tires with some Vittoria TNT tires. This would shave around 400 grams total (almost a pound) from the weight of the bike, and more importantly, lower the rolling weight of the wheels. (I might even go back to tubes, as I rarely get flats. I am 6'2" and 161 lbs.)

SO:

1. Anyone have an opinion on this idea? Anyone done it?

2. Thoughts on which Vittoria tire (and why) Barzo/Mezcal, etc

3. 2.1 vs 2.25 Width

4. TLR (?) vs TNT (tube or no tube)??

Notes:
    -I really like Vittoria products. Have the tires on my road and cyclocross bikes (I have raced extensively).
    - I ride in Massachusetts mostly on blue and black trails with a lot of rocks and roots. I don't favor super technical stuff but do encounter a lot of stones and fallen trees and roots.

Thank you.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012