mtbr member
    Apr 2005

Where for best singletrack?

Hi,
    We are spending a July and August in Canada. August we are spending in Whistler. The other 5 weeks we are hiring a car and travelling around Alberta and BC. The type of riding we like best is flowing singletrack. We are not into North Shore style riding or jumps etc. Bearing this in mind where would be the best places to visit?

Thanks

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Susie
    Hi,
    We are spending a July and August in Canada. August we are spending in Whistler. The other 5 weeks we are hiring a car and travelling around Alberta and BC. The type of riding we like best is flowing singletrack. We are not into North Shore style riding or jumps etc. Bearing this in mind where would be the best places to visit?

Thanks
    Susie, I'm no expert on available singletrack but you'll get some in Whistler itself and Squamish. Canmore, Alberta has a lot of good singletrack.

Also check out some websites like www.trailpeak.com and www.pinkbike.com, which has a lot of Alberta content.

Just roll it......

What about central BC?

Hi Susie,

You'll be able to ride GREAT (some of the best, imo) singletrack riding in and around the Whistler area, but it's not exactly what I'd call "flowy". While there are absolutely some flowy stretches to most trails in that area, most will be pretty technically challenging with lots of tough climbs and descents. There's a reason that area produces some of the best riders in the world....it's kind of like the big apple, "if you can make it there, you'll make it anywhere".