What bike for Squamish and Vancouver?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2019

What bike for Squamish and Vancouver?

I am moving to Squamish (North Vancouver initially) and would like to get into trail riding. I am total newbie and no idea what type of bike to get. Iíve been reading other threads suggesting all mountain or enduro type bikes but these look super expensive. Is there anything decent that is more cost effective or is it necessary to spend quite a bit (couple of ks) on a decent set up? My experience biking on trails is limited, but spend a lot of time in the mountains generally and did a day downhill mountain biking in the alps, in a place called Le Tour. Also would these bikes work as a daily commuter? I used to commute in Edinburgh on a hard tail and was hard work on the roads. The reason being is that Iím thinking to bike into downtown whilst living in North Van. Whatís the safety like? Iím currently in London and unless you take off prett much every part of the bike, it will get stolen. Any help from experienced riders knowledgeable of the area would be greatly appreciated!

mtbr member
    The trails in N.Van and Squamish, in general, are advanced and the majority of people are riding long travel trail bikes, all mountain or enduro bikes (130mm to 170mm full suspension bikes with a dropper post and good tires).

You could ride a commuter on the trails or ride your trail bike around town, but neither is going to perform very well out of its element.

Or you could buy a bike in between, like a 29er hardtail, and it's not going to do either all that well.

If you are serious about getting into mountain biking, you'll want a proper bike for the trails. If you are buying new, yes that means probably spending $2500-3000. Something like a Giant Trance 3 (https://www.giant-bicycles.com/ca/trance-3) is good entry point.