Visiting Vancouver near Mt Fromme- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2016

Visiting Vancouver near Mt Fromme

We're visiting my in-laws in a few weeks who live 5 min from the Mt Fromme trails. I've been riding on the road for 6 years but have only gotten into XC MTB'ing this last year. Back home I ride what we consider to be Intermediate singletrack with some Adv trails, but I realize the North Shore is a completely different beast.

Any advice or trails that I could hit while visiting? I'm fine with climbing and 3-4 hour rides. Just want to make sure I don't get into anything too over my head. Also, would love to stick to some local trails that I could ride to from the In-laws house.

Thanks in advance!

ups and downs
    Keep in mind that North Shore trail ratings are really AM/freeride trail ratings not XC trail ratings, so blue trails on Fromme or Seymour might look like a black diamond XC trail in other parts of the world. A 125-150mm travel bike is a weapon of choice for most of these trails. Blue trails may still have mandatory low ladder bridges with most anything elevated having a bypass, there's lots of roots and rocks on green and blue trails. There's also very few long trails, you get long rides by doing laps of various short trails climbing Mountain Highway.

To calibrate your trail rating comparison, here's the progression that would be the least risky, all within short riding distance of Fromme and Lynn Valley. Start off with the green and blue trails of Circuit 8, the Central, West and John Thompson trails. That will give you an idea of the range trail surfaces to expect in green and blue rated trails that are nearly flat, a few metres of elevation change.

Circuit 8 Central Loop Mountain Bike Trail - Lower Seymour Conservation Reserve, North Vancouver
    Circuit 8 West Loop Mountain Bike Trail - Lower Seymour Conservation Reserve, North Vancouver
    John Thompson Mountain Bike Trail - Lower Seymour Conservation Reserve, North Vancouver