Travelling into Canada with Bikes- Mtbr.com
    I want to ride my bicycle
    Jan 2004

Travelling into Canada with Bikes

Hello, I am a US Resident and will be travelling into BC this summer for a week of riding with friends (all US Residents). There are 20 of us going on the trip and we plan on flying from California with the exception of 3 people who will be driving into Canada with all of the bikes in a trailer. My concern is there will be $100K+ of bikes in the trailer that is being driven across the border. And of course the people driving the bikes across the border only own their own bikes and the rest of the bikes are owned by the people flying in.

I called Canadian customs and was given a very short response of "make sure the declaration forms are filled out and your case will be reviewed at the border". This seems like a big chance to take, that could potentially ruin our week of riding if for some reason the bikes aren't allowed in or are held in some sort of customs control.

Does anyone have experience traveling with multiple bikes to/from Canada? Any tips?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    I've done a much smaller version of that (it was like 4 bikes in a truck) and I'm Canadian going the opposite way and it was no problem. I'm no immigration lawyer but I think as long as you have nothing to hide it should be ok

ups and downs
    Getting into Canada the major issue will be a guarantee that no one will be selling the bikes when you're here, so you want everyone to have a bill of sale or a document that identifies the s/n and value of the bike, and the name/address of the owner of each bike, and you may be asked to sign a declaration that they are not for resale.

If this is part of an organized paid tour, you may have some issues related to working in Canada as a US tour operator.