Where do you draw the line between light and porkie?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Where do you draw the line between light and porkie?

I'm kind of new in the mountain bike seen and I'm much more familiar with road and tri bikes. I'm wondering where the line is drawn. I'm not talking weight weenie specials here, just light or not so light. On a road bike these days I'd say it's at 18 lbs. Tri/TT bikes; 20lbs. Where do you draw the line on mountain bikes? Full suspension? Hardtail?

himom!
    Apr 2006
    Hardtails:

<18 lbs = crazy light
    <20 lbs = very light
    <22 lbs = light
    <24 lbs = OK
    >24 lbs = eh

Shift 2-3 lbs up for full-suspension.

Weight Weenie Shop Owner
    Quote Originally Posted by Sweeney
    I'm kind of new in the mountain bike seen and I'm much more familiar with road and tri bikes. I'm wondering where the line is drawn. I'm not talking weight weenie specials here, just light or not so light. On a road bike these days I'd say it's at 18 lbs. Tri/TT bikes; 20lbs. Where do you draw the line on mountain bikes? Full suspension? Hardtail?
    HT: 20.5lbs is the over-under IMO
    FS: 22.5lbs
    Road: 16.5lbs

It's just to easy nowadays to get a bike pretty light without sacrificing durability. Road bikes are even easier. Many road bikes on the LBS can easily weight under 16lbs with pedals, stock!
    DIRT BOY
    Light-Bikes.com
    The Largest Site Dedicated to Light Weight Bikes and Sales
    Twitter: @lightbikes_com

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by DIRT BOY
    FS: 22.5lbs
    FS is a very broad category. If you are talking about FS XC race bikes then 22.5lbs is properly light. Some of the compromises made in achieving that weight will limit the uses to which the bike can be put, which is perhaps a bit different to road bikes. I'm thinking in particular that weight weenie tyre choices tend to be as useful as the proverbial chocolate teapot in many real world trail situations.