Racing Non-UST tires on UST rims- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Racing Non-UST tires on UST rims

I'm considering making the switch and racing Non-UST tires on UST rims (I'm a mid-pack expert racer looking to drop some bike weight)....

How long does it take for a Non-UST tire to seal using an 819 rim and stan's sealant??? Is this something that can be done the night before a race (without running the risk of having a tire blow off the rim)? Or, I'm a just taking a huge risk with this setup??

Any recommendations...

mtbr member
    Aug 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by PaniC
    I'm considering making the switch and racing Non-UST tires on UST rims (I'm a mid-pack expert racer looking to drop some bike weight)....

How long does it take for a Non-UST tire to seal using an 819 rim and stan's sealant??? Is this something that can be done the night before a race (without running the risk of having a tire blow off the rim)? Or, I'm a just taking a huge risk with this setup??

Any recommendations...
    I have run that type of setup in the past with no ill-affects. I did use Michelin tires though which are known to be a good choice for this because they are made to tight tolerances and have nice fat beads that seal very well.

I ran the Michi Hot-S Wildgrippers on some 823's for over a year w/o a single issue and they even seated on the first try with just an air compressor. I did add some Stan's later to keep the pressure from dropping and to seal small holes etc.

I have since gone to tires with thicker sidewalls but that's just because I moved to an area with LOTS more rocks and I was having issues with pinchflatting sidewalls etc.