Looking for Sub 200 gram saddle- Mtbr.com
    fmf
    mtbr member
    Jun 2006

Looking for Sub 200 gram saddle

Hey all,

I'm lookin for a sub 200 gram seat thats won't break on a little crash.

Any info appreciated! Txs

I wanna go fast!
    Oct 2005
    Selle Italia SLR XC Gel Flow. I have one on my bike and I love it, I will buy another one if this one ever bites the dust or if I get another MTB. Weight is listed as 170g, I'm not sure how accurate that is, but it is plenty light while still being very sturdy. I have been racing on the same one for 8 months and it has held up well.

meow, meow.
    Well, the more important thing about saddles is that they must not act as torture instruments. Depending on your anatomy, a saddle you're looking for may or may not fall within sub-200g class.

I'd recommend you check out Selle Italia SLR series. If that's a fit, go for the one you like best. Plain SLR (no padding, no gel, no cutout) works very well for me -- better than the padded WTB Rocket V Stealth Ti I had previously; next one I'll try will be SLR C64.

I wanna go fast!
    Oct 2005
    I guess I should have added that for me, the SLR XC Gel Flow is plenty comfortable. I've used it for a 12 hour race and felt fine...no numbness or anything like that. It's a great saddle, at least for how my body is made.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    I ride on a Selle Italia SLK (vanox rail version), claimed weight is about 185g.

http://www.cambriabike.com/shopexd.asp?id=23855

Slightly different design to the SLR, the SLK has the 'split' all the way to the back of the saddle, so each half can flex independently, giving a very comfortable ride

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    I've used a selle italia flite ti for a long time and i'm pretty sure it scrapes in under 200. i'm looking at the plain SI SLR @ 145g (i think) for the SS as i understand it's the same or very similar shape and feel...

fmf
    mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    hey everyone,