The Infamous Bunny Hop- Mtbr.com
    Go Big or Go Home
    Feb 2008

The Infamous Bunny Hop

I recently got my first mountain bike from a friend for real cheap, an 05 specialized hardrock, I used to BMX when I was younger so I like doing freeride types of stuff and hop and jump over anything and everything for the hell of it. I know I'm a beginner but I was wondering if this bike and its weight is the limiting factor or more my skills. It feels relatively heavy to me, and I can hop up curbs and maybe a few inches higher but that's it. Would a lighter bike/components help me out or should I just work on the whole user error sort of thing.

PCC
    mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    There are a few things going on here. First of all, the bike is bigger relative to your size compared to your BMX bike. The riding position is different and the front suspension fork works against you when you try to push off to get any kind of air. You have to relearn how to do it and then keep doing it until you can get the kind of air you think you should.

When I got my full-suspension bike I could not bunnyhop that thing to save my life...

Go Big or Go Home
    Feb 2008
    Yeah all good points, can you do it now or still a no go? I guess like everything practice makes perfect.
    Last edited by calikid22; 02-23-2008 at 07:31 PM.

aka Jesse Palmer
    You need to preload the suspension and then continue with the same technique you always use. Seatpost getting in the way is going to be the biggest limiting factor by far as you can't really tuck the bike up under you as you would on a BMX bike. So curb height+ is good enough for trail riding with saddle in pedaling position.

Single Speed Junkie
    There is a you clip out there which is fairly helpful as well. Just can't seem to find it right now.

Uncoordinated coward
    Sep 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by crux
    There is a you clip out there which is fairly helpful as well. Just can't seem to find it right now.