Help with Fork/Spacers/and weight...- Mtbr.com
    The Casual Rider

Help with Fork/Spacers/and weight...

Guys, I'm a bit of a newbie, so pardon the question if it's stupid..

Just go t a Moots with Fox fork... the shop that built it said that it was no biggie from a performance and weight standpoint to keep the fork "untrimmed" and so I have about a 3-cm popup form my stem (see pics below) that frankly looks kinda cool to me, but I don't want to have it if it's going to hamper my ride, it's quality and performance..

I'm satisfied with the position of the bar now, so assuming I have no intention to change it, shall I have it trimmed? Or is it like the shop owner said, better to keep the full length incase I decide to upgrade the fork soon and wana sell it?

Also, is the weight savings even worth sweating? And am I harming the integrity of the bike by not trimming and removing those spacers?

thanks a lot for your patience..

I came, I rode, and I crashed!
    My Bike

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I always keep a small spacer on top for flexibility. The resale of a fork is significantly effected by the lengths of the STeerer tube. I always keep at least 7.75" to 8" and space the headset accordningly. It doesn't hurt the bike or performance to keep any amount on there but it will weigh a few extra grams which in this forum isn't acceptable.

I'd cut about 1/2 of that off if it keeps it around the 8" mark on the steerer tube. What size frame is it?

Faller - Expert Class

Ouch...

Gotta admit though, it seems that a shot from that to the sternum definitely would hurt!!!

Nice Moots!! Post more pics if ya get a chance!

2006 Kona Leroi

Quote Originally Posted by azonicrider188a
    well just get your asses some juicy 7s and huck down a mountain. thoose v brakes will snap like my butt

Te mortuo heres tibi sim?