Cutting weight Anthem 1 2008- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2007

Cutting weight Anthem 1 2008

Hi everyone!

I'm pretty new to this weight weenies thing and I would like some advices. I got my Anthem 1 in october 2007 thinking I would not really put any upgrades on it unless something breaks but seems like I'm now looking into making it a bit lighter... Since everything is already at a good level with a total of 26 pounds for the bike there isn't many options to cut some major weight. As of now, all the bike as the same type of parts as when I got it except that I'm now running a DuraAce XTR 7701 chain instead of the HG73.

Overall, I want to do these changes and I want to know if it's a good move or not:

Change RaceFace Evolve XC seatpost for a Ritchey superlogic carbon seatpost
    Change RaceFace Evolve XC handlebar for a Ritchey superlogic carbon handlebar
    Change the RaceFace Evolve XC stem for a Ritchey WCS 4 axis carbon stem
    Change the Michelin XC Dry^2 tires for Continental Race King Supersonic 26x2.0
    Remove my tubes and use the notubes tubeless kit

Doing that, I think I could shave around 1.5 pounds...maybe a bit more. Is it worth it?

Does Ritchey builds reliable carbon parts?

Is there better moves to do that would cost less?

Thank you!

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    Just my two cents, but the Ritchey seat post isn't that light, although Ritchey does have the bling affect in my opinion. KCNC makes some light products, which are worth looking in to (fairwheelbikes.com). You didn't state your weight or riding style, but that helps, as some products do have weight limitations.The Conti supersonics are extemely hard to seal. Options are Maxxis Ikons, Schwalbe Ralph Racing or Rocket Rons. Good luck.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    to help us help you list your bike's current specs

remember carbon is not always lighter than AL (althought it looks way better)