Bang-for-Buck Race Bike- Mtbr.com
    dreaming of bottlerockets

Bang-for-Buck Race Bike

I need some advice on how to lighten up this bike.

My goal this past fall was to train to race X/C for the 2008 season - my first race season. I bought the bike for it last June, but I would like to make a few upgrades.

It's a completely stock 2001 GT Zaskar Race - currently weighs somewhere just above 23lbs. Got it locally for $1000, with only 36 original km's on it. I come from a freeride backround, so this bike feels absurdly light to me already.

Note - everything is basically brand new, but from 2001-2002:

2001 SID Race
    Mavic X225's on LX Hubs
    LX Cranks
    LX Triggers
    LX Front Derailleur
    XTR Rear Derailleur
    2.1" WTB Nanoraptors
    Avid SD7 Levers
    Avid SD Magnesium Brakes
    Syncros 6061 Stem
    Syncros 6061 Handlebar
    SDG saddle

I'm 165lbs and I ride downhill with reckless abandon. I'm also a student on a budget, until I go back to work in April.

Wheels are my #1 priority, and I can build them myself. Anyone have suggestions for rims or a wheelset for me, or other upgrades? The rims must be v-brake compatible, and I'd like to go tubeless with some new tires.

#2 priority is stem and handlebar, or fork, unless someone can think of a better place to save some weight.

Much thanks to anyone that helps me out .
    Attached Images Attached Images
    if it ain't broke you ain't ridin' hard enough
    http://www.outdoorsclub.ca - I'm the webmaster and I help run trips!

pedal pusher
    Save money on the fork for now; SIDs are pretty light.

Even before the bar and stem, I'd focus on the chain, pedals and crankset.

himom!
    Apr 2006
    I don't think there are many tubeless V-brake rims out there. Here's the obvious choice: http://www.notubes.com/rim_builder.php/cPath/487_489

I agree with f3rg, screw upgrading the bar and stem for now - you won't save much weight there.

I'd do stuff in this order:
    Wheelset and tires