New to the Roanoke Area. Need some advice- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2012

New to the Roanoke Area. Need some advice

I am new to the Roanoke area and looking for some trails to start off with. I have been riding since 2011, but took the last two years off so I am working on getting my skills back. I rode trails in San Antonio and Jacksonville, NC and most of that was flat XC type single track.

I went out to Explore Park today and needless to say it was not San Antonio or Eastern NC and my cardio level is definitely not where it needs to be. What would you all suggest as some good trails to gain my skills and riding fitness back. I currently ride an Airborne Goblin Evo 29er hardtail and a Giant Trance. I am thinking Carvins Cove would be good, but just need to find a loop I can get about 7 or more miles to start off. Any help would definitely be appreciated.

Also last question would be what type of bikes are most riding around here? I have never rode this type of terrain before and coming from a mostly XC background I am thinking the Trance will handle it all just fine. I am thinking about picking up a Giant Anthem Advanced or a Rocky Mountain Instinct so I can have a more XC oriented bike to go with my trail bikes.

Formerly of Kent

New to the Roanoke Area. Need some advice

As a general rule, most everything at Carvins is an XC trail.

Some exceptions are Gaunlet, the Trough and Royalty, which are jump trails on the SE side.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Death from Below.

Thinking about riding.
    Dec 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by Le Duke View Post
    As a general rule, most everything at Carvins is an XC trail.

Some exceptions are Gaunlet, the Trough and Royalty, which are jump trails on the SE side.

Gauntlet isn't a jump trail, just the alternate entrance OG is... Gauntlet is otherwise a pretty tame XC trail, albeit a descent. I'd argue the same for Trough and Royalty - they're XC trails with jumps, not jump trails.