New Rider in Harrisonburg, Va- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2010

New Rider in Harrisonburg, Va

I didn't see an introduction forum so I'll post this here. Maybe I am just blind and there is an introduction forum.

I picked up a 2010 Raleigh Talus 8.0 at the beginning of Dec but the "better-half" will not let me ride it til the 25th. This is my first time owning a bike that didn't come from Wal-Mart, so I am anxious to get out and ride(not to mention riding a bike again after 4-5 years). I have wanted a MTB for a while now but its never been high on my list but after seeing/hearing countless stories, trips and photos it was time to get one. I do have a friend who has been riding for a few years.

Are there any good beginner trails around besides Hillndale? My buddy rides a lot at Massanutten. Just really checking in. I have been on the SVBC website but they don't post a whole lot over there and I will join sometime after x-mas.

mtbr member
    Welcome to riding in the burg! I just started riding a little over a year ago so I know it can be hard to find some good trails that aren't a little too challenging. If you are looking for a good alternate place to ride I would suggest Montgomery Hall park in Staunton
    There are also some good trails around Braley Pond and Hone Quarry too.
    2010 GF HiFi Deluxe

mtbr member
    Dec 2010
    Thanks for the info. I will make it down there to check out the trails. I also want to stop in Black Dog Bikes, which I also see is a member here and posted in that thread.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Shoot me a PM. Tons of good trails in the area, including the trails in the city at Hillendale Park. Not a lot of mtn. biking going on with the weather and hunting season limiting access right now but it'll pick up in a couple months. Definitely join SVBC, you just missed our monthly social on Monday. Next one I think is on Jan. 10th.

Roland

mtbr member
    Dec 2010