How to get into racing?- Mtbr.com

May 2008

How to get into racing?

I just started riding this summer and now I am totally hooked. I ride 4-5 days a week and feel that I'm in pretty good shape and would like to try out a race to see just how slow I am . I guess there aren't many this time of year but where can I find out about amateur races in the area?

www.justthebonnet.com
    Quote Originally Posted by Harolev
    I just started riding this summer and now I am totally hooked. I ride 4-5 days a week and feel that I'm in pretty good shape and would like to try out a race to see just how slow I am . I guess there aren't many this time of year but where can I find out about amateur races in the area?
    Not sure what your area is. Obviously google your state name & mountain bike racing & you should come up with some regional races.
    Also, www.usacycling.org will have a listing of races.

Then there is always www.bikereg.com that has regional & state listings.

The simplest way is to talk to local riders/racers & find out some websites or local shops that put on races. In the mid atlantic area there are always races.

Then go race & have fun. Watch the semi-pro races & pick up some points.

Keep riding & keep racing, you'll eventually get better on a level. Ride with people faster than you so you learn to push your limits & appreciate suffering. On the mtn bike, learn your technical skills. Bike handling is huge.

When you feel confident on the trail, pick up a road bike & expand you base aerobic capacity. Work hard on the road.

Congrats, now you are ready to dominate the sport class. Man-up & move on to expert & suffer on a whole new level!!!!

When all this fails, resign to drinking lots o beer & appreciate the "ride".

Welcome to Mtn biking, its addictive
    Capt_Phun's Riding Blog:
    http://captphun.blogspot.com/

I better go get my headlamp while I'm sober....ish

the unvarnished nonsense
    Quote Originally Posted by Capt_phun