Worksman Wheelset Q and (hopefully) A- Mtbr.com
    illuminaughty

Worksman Wheelset Q and (hopefully) A

Has anyone used a wheelset from a Worksman bike on a Klunker? They are heavy but those oversize spokes are awesome. They would definately create a problem with brake options but for a pub bike way cool.
    :)

Harmonius Wrench
    Well, they are indeed heavy. VERY heavy. That and they bend like butter. Spoke tension is pretty much non-existent. The drum brakes on them are okay, but as for the rest of it, even for pub crawling, they have pretty neanderthal-like technology that won't be very durable.

I have several years worth of maintenance experience with those at John Deere Tractor Works here in my town. Both shop jobs I have had were contracted out to Deere to maintenance those abominations they call trikes. (shiver!) Blecch!
    Riden' an Smilin'
    Guitar Ted

Blog
    RidingGravel.com

illuminaughty
    wow! I didn't know that. I assumed by how they were built they would be bullitproof. The ones I'm looking at are standard hubs with a coaster brake. Has anyone else had experience with them like Teds?

Hybrid Leftys aren't real Moderator
    Yep, Gleason Works here in Rochester NY has a bunch, last shop I worked at sold them a bunch of solid rubber tires, and said, "sure we can put those on for you, no charge...." He's right. They are very solid for their intended purpose, but the spokes are used in a wagon wheel sense (kinda like the much maligned Mavic R-SYS of recent history) They rely on their bulk, not tension, to make them strong. In a multi load situation, they won't last long. Trikes are very stable, no side loading, twisting, power sliding etc.
    Cannondale Lefty and HeadShock servicing, wheel building, etc...

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member