What are the toughest vintage components?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2007

What are the toughest vintage components?

I'm planning on doing some off road touring which I've never done before. I have a mid-80's Stumpjumper sport (with the bi-plane fork and the scalloped chainstay lugs). It has a few stock things but also some hack job add ons. I plan to strip it down, framesave, and build it into a tough expedition bike.

What components would you recommend I purchase for bombproof reliablility? I don't want to be stuck out in the middle of nowhere.

I was thinking of keeping:

Suntour Power Thumb shifters
    Saturae wheels
    Are the stock hubs tough enough?

Any recommendations for derailleurs? They can be from any era but I'd like to buy used/cheap something that is really tough to break.

What about brakes? I'll be pulling a BOB Ibex, sometimes maxed out, are canti's a bad idea? If so what are my other options on this frame?

Thanks!
    Last edited by ColoradoRyan; 01-04-2010 at 08:55 PM.

Hybrid Leftys aren't real Moderator
    Hubs from that era are freewheel. This created an unsupported axle section, that went all the way from the end of the hub threads, to the axles lock nut. Broken and bent axles were common back then, and evaporated once freehub style systems came about. Not that you can't go that way, but for loaded touring, and worry free riding? I'd go with a modern design rear hub if it were me.

Sounds like a fun project, where're you heading?
    Cannondale Lefty and HeadShock servicing, wheel building, etc...

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

m o t o !
    Hi,
    I'd recommend the whole line of suntour components. The microdrive is well suited for high loads of package, the canties are toxic and the derailleurs insensible.
    Its a good idea to lace up new wheels for travelling anyway.
    Besides: the squaretaper bbs last out a lot iof trouble, the bearings are cheap and spares are available easily.
    ciao, Alexander

mtbr member
    Sep 2005