Perspective...- Mtbr.com

Thread: Perspective...

mtbr member
    Mar 2007

Perspective...

It's winter here in the north east, and I plan to ride in the morning. I just wobbled into the hallway trying to decide which bike to ride, all the while concentrating on not spilling my laphroaig. When I got my first mountain bike, in 1989, it was an excercise in compromise. I was working as a laborer on a new continent, and my budget was a reflection of that fact. The red Yokota Tomume with 200gs was the best I could afford.

If anyone back then had told me that 20+ years down the road I'd be picking between the Fat Chance and Bontrager in the hallway, or the Yeti in the basement I'd have figured they were sniffing glue... Yet here I am with just that dillema! Life could have turned out much worse!

REALLY?
    I started riding about the same year you did and I said the same thing back in 96-97 when I first saw a Proflex Animal/856 - yet here I am and I have one - in near mint condition.

My first Mt bike was a Cannondale - and back in 94-95 I had a Bontrager and a GT Psyclone - didnt care for the Bontrager to much, it was good, but not great, out of all of them I liked the GT the best. Wish I still had it, mabie I'll get lucky and score one off ebay like I did with the Proflex.

I may be getting a Giant NRS-3 pretty soon (just the frame)
    DJ, "Because I'm sure the world need's more dudes stalking the woods stoned out of their mind carrying a deadly weapon."

Thumbs Up!
    Quote Originally Posted by al415
    It's winter here in the north east, and I plan to ride in the morning. I just wobbled into the hallway trying to decide which bike to ride, all the while concentrating on not spilling my laphroaig. When I got my first mountain bike, in 1989, it was an excercise in compromise. I was working as a laborer on a new continent, and my budget was a reflection of that fact. The red Yokota Tomume with 200gs was the best I could afford.