Old GTs- Mtbr.com

Thread: Old GTs

May 2004

Old GTs

I started riding mountain bikes in 91'. My first bike was a GT Talera (ghetto!), but my second (first REAL bike) was a 93' (?) GT Corrado. It had a true-temper steel frame and a LX/XT parts mix. I put a Manitou M-Sport (just a re-badged Manitou 1 the year the Manitou 2 came out) on it and I remember specifically haveing the shop I bought it from put on XT Thumbshifters and DX brake levers. It was the reason I got into mountain biking. It even had a Scott 1-piece bar (the bar with the bar ends built in) on it at some point. Does anyone have pics of older GTs? I used to think the Zaskar and Pantera were cool. How about the titanium frameset they made that their team rode - the Xizang! What about the RTS-1??? That was such a cool bike, expecially in the "ball-burnished" finish. BTW - I love this board, brings back lots of good memories!! One of these days maybe I will try to find an older frame and build it up with a Mag 21 and 8 speed - MONEY!
    Last edited by karstkid; 05-23-2004 at 09:28 AM.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by karstkid
    How about the titanium frameset they made that their team rode - the Xizang!
    Funny, just saw one of those for sale in the local ad paper.

GT was one of the few bikes you could get with seatstay brakes in 90' when CS brakes were all the rage, albeit they were still U models. They had THE race team in the early 90's also.
    A bike by any other name is still a bike.

May 2004

U brakes

My first GT, the Talera, had a seat-stay U-brake on it...I even upgraded it to a XT!!

mtbr member
    Apr 2004

Some good years of GTs

I still have a 93 Zaskar, Mag 21, even some of the old 7 spd XT but too bad you can't get a deraileur hanger or decals anymore. Rode it for 6 yrs, no telling how many miles, but a great ride.

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    How about the GT Psyclone, their handbuilt fillet brazed top of the line steel frame?