Noob with a 97' GT Zaskar LE- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2020

Noob with a 97' GT Zaskar LE

Hello from Berlin!
    Im from Detroit but have been living in Berlin for the past 3 years.

My Motobecane is finally kaputt, the real derailleur wrapped itself up in my back wheel and bent the dropout... its about time for a real tough and versatile commuter.

I just bought a 97' GT Zaskar LE frame online yesterday and I cant wait to get building! It currently has a Chris King headset, Ritchey stem and bars.

I am a total beginner when it comes to building bikes, I literally have to refer to google images to identify components as Im writing this lol I hope I dont get chewed out too hard

I would appreciate any and all input, I am going to need a lot of help from an experienced community!

Thanks!

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Noob with a 97' GT Zaskar LE-img_20200510_191343.jpg  

Last edited by aae.kae; 3 Weeks Ago at 11:55 PM.

artistic...
    I see the rear brake studs are missing. Do you have tools to build this thing? If i were in your shoes i would search for a good bike shop in Berlin and see what they come up w/. You already need those studs and either find a crankset that matches your BB spindle or get a new BB along w/ cranks but then comes up the tool issue.
    Thatīs a nice frame. They love Zaskars in Europe and keep their love for 26in.
    WTB: Bomber Z2 1 1/8 steerer, in good to excellent shape OR bomber rebuild kit.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Rear studs will be the first research project. Measure the bottom bracket spindle and we can let you know what will or won't work. Parts wise it's up to you. You should be able to run anywhere from 1-3 rings on your crank & 7-11 speed out back. It's all up to you.

A decent 2-8mm Allen key set, & some good cable cutters should have you set for tools, nothing major. Tools would be cheaper than a bike shop.